Spring CSA week 8

Greetings Loyal Localists!

Another week went by rapidly in this atypically hot and dry month of June (atypical just for our intern Luca, who is from Parma, Italy, a city comparable in size to Athens, GA, but where the climate is much more temperate) Luca is writing the newsletter for this week and so let’s have him talk a little about himself:

Dear members, it is such an honor for me to share with all of you my impressions about the farm and to be able to present myself in a more complete way. In fact some of you I’ve never met, but what’s more important is the precious way we’ve been relating to each other in the past two months through the food we’re enjoying, me as an apprentice in the laborious project of growing it and you in the meaningful role of supporters and tasters.

First of all I must talk about how I got here at Burge and give you a little description of the steps that I have done. I was born and I grew up in Italy (don’t worry I won’t tell you about my youth!) and the first real time I started thinking deeply about food was at the age of 20 when I moved to study abroad in Spain and I had to face the reality of eating food that I would cook. I had slowly to refine my taste, but I believe I was starting from a good level as my mom exposed me all my life to Home Cooking (a beautiful beloved tradition in Italy). The years went by and I continued cooking for myself, but with a confined knowledge of what fresh produce was (I didn’t think there was an alternative way to get vegetables or fruits other than at a grocery store!!!) Then I met Lauren, my wife, and she was studying at the University of Gastronomic Sciences (Slow Food), and that was a tremendous amount of information that I was able to obtain. I followed her when she decided to go volunteer on organic farms (WWOOF), and I really enjoyed the experience as diverse. Living with her increased my knowledge about what was more actual in the world of food and I got to understand the meaning of words like Organic and Sustainable. My passion for cooking food and eating is immense and I love every aspect of it.

That’s the background of our decision to really get to know about every single detail that is involved in the crazy cycle of growing food at a farm. Luckily we found Burge! And here we are, still alive, after two months of the most intense, laborious but rewarding job I’ve ever had in my life. I must say that I really love the plantation and our working schedules following the cycles of Nature, the only lawmaker around these parts. In fact she uses her own unpredictable ways to make you love an early harvest at 6 in the morning and make you really hate weeding in the burning sun. We must accept…

I could continue for days talking about the beautiful things that are going on around here but I’ll try to keep them for next time when I’ll talk to you again. It’s been an honor! Enjoy the box!

In The Box

this week we feature some more delicious blackberries, as well as a beautiful selection of tomatoes for you to enjoy. Welcome to summer!

-1 pint of Blackberries
-1 pint of Cherry Tomatoes
-1 pound of mixed heirloom Tomatoes
-¾ of a pound Green Beans
-1 pound of Squash/Zucchini
-1 pound of Cucumbers
-1 head of Cabbage
-6 Purple onions\
Recipes and Ideas

-Quick Cucumber Pickles
Besides tomatoes, the taste of these sweet-sour quick pickles really encapsulates summer in my mind.
-1 cucumber, sliced into 1/2 ” chunks
-2 tbs sugar
-1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
-small handful shredded basil (Thai basil works best, but Italian basil is fine too)
Mix ingredients and allow to cool in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. Enjoy!t
-Grilled Cabbage with Bacon

Burge resident carpenter and naturalist Ricky Taylor shared this easy recipe, and he swears he can eat a whole cabbage by himself when it’s prepared this way.
-Chop cabbage into quarters, wrap with bacon and place into tinfoil. Dab with butter and season with salt and pepper. Grill for 15-20 minutes. Almost too good to be true…
-Green Beans and Cherry Tomatoes

The buttery basil sauce really makes this dish work. Boun’ Appetito!

-3/4 pound green beans, trimmed and cut into 2 inch pieces
-2 tablespoons butter
-2 teaspoons sugar

-dash of garlic salt and pepper
-small handful fresh basil, chopped
1 cup cherry tomato halves
Place the green beans in boiling water and reduce to a simmer for about 10 minuntes or until tender, drain. Meanwhile, melt the butter over medium head and add the sugar, salt, pepper and basil. Add the tomatoes and continue cooking until they have just gone soft. Pour over green beans and serve warm.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

